Bio Mapping

I actually found the article Visualizing Emotions: Turning ‘Dry’ Data Into Stories pretty early on in my research, but since at the time I still wasn’t sure what I wanted to do for my research project, I kind of put it on the backburner for a while. I came across it again earlier today, and I realized I had forgotten how relevant to my project some of the work they discuss in it is.

One of the projects they talk about is Bio Mapping by artist Christian Nold (featured image © Christian Nold). In it, he has residents of a number of different cities walk around their environments while wearing a device created by Nold designed to track emotional changes using Galvanic Skin Response (GSR), and recording the person’s GPS coordinates as their response changes over the course of their walk. He then takes this information and plots it all out on an Emotion Map (featured image is the San Fransisco Emotion Map).

 

sheet

Greenwich Emotion Map

I checked out a bunch of Nold’s other work on his website, and very much enjoyed it. He’s a very process-oriented artist, as am I, and we seem to have somewhat similar general research interests. I ended up deciding to shoot him a short email asking if he might be able to offer any general insights into where to start out creating something that can measure emotional change through body temperature. Who knows if I’ll end up hearing anything back from him or not. Regardless, I’m really glad I came across this artist.

 

Leave a Reply

