Body Temperature and Emotion

One thing I’ve been thinking about is how to go about visualizing changes in body temperature. Not only does this fall in line with my general theme of sensory system translation, but a step further, changes in body temperature can indicate changes in mood/emotion (just think mood rings). And the idea of being able to actively visualize emotion and emotional changes in real time is pretty fascinating to me.

 

bodily-maps-of-emotions-2-638

Here’s some handy information I found on just that thing!

 

After just a cursory search, I found a few different types of body temperature sensors, one of which was even specifically designed as a wearable.

08777-01

I’m trying to think what the best way to use this as a visualization would be, what kind of garment might be best to execute it in, etc. Ideally, in a perfect wonderful world where I had all the time and money and knowledge and resources I could ever need, I’d want to create a garment where the entire surface area of it was changing and reactive to changes in body temperature, so that the overall effect would be this continuously morphing, changing array of color or something like that. At least that’s how it plays out in my head. Honestly, though, that almost sounds a little too overly stimulating, and I’m not sure if it’s the kind of thing I’m really going for. I really want something with a subtler, more nuanced overall effect. So I don’t know. Maybe what I just need to do is do some more research into how emotion affects body temperature to get a better feeling for what kinds of visual potentials this could realistically have.

 

One Comment

  1. This is very interesting. Not sure if you were able to attend the talk by Lining Yao at the BMA this past weekend but the crux of her work was focused on how body temperature and sweat can cause changes within certain bacteria. It was really interesting to look at how she visualized this in her presentation. Might be interested to check out!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

